About Us
Faculty Profiles
Ph.D Admissions *New
The Hamrock Society


This is a student-faculty united functionary body of Department of Earth Sciences, IIT Roorkee. It organises all the events and activities involving students apart from curriculum in the department.

Register yourself in the Hamrockians' database 



Hamrock Store (Email: Shri Nair 01332-285638)


Polo T-Shirt white colour (size 38-46) (view front / back) Rs. 500/-


Cap (view front) Rs. 150/-


Key chains (two types) (view front / back) Rs. 25/- each




Contributions to Hamrock Society by Hamrockians

Name Batch & Year Amount  (Rs.) Present Location
 Neeraj Kumar  M.Tech. (Applied Geophysics) 1999 50000.00   USA
 Bhagwan S.R.  Iyenger  M.Tech. (Applied Geophysics) 1983 10000.00   AMD, Bangalore
 Kumar Praveer  M.Tech. (Applied Geophysics)  1997 10000.00   Petrofac, Gurgaon
 T. Vijay Kumar   2000.00   DAE, Bangalore


Events :


  • Second Mithal Memorial Lecture (MML) was delivered by Prof. I. B. Singh, Emiretus Scientist, Lucknow University on 30th August 2013 in the Department of Earth Sciences. It was attended was large number of students, research scholars and faculty. (Photographs: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11)



  • Introduction Function for new entrants was held on 24th August 2012 (photographs).


  • The Prof. R. S. Mithal inaugural Memorial Lecture was delivered by Prof. Mrinal. K. Sen, Director, NGRI, Hyderabad on 3rd Oct. 2012. Large number of students, research scholars and faculty of several departments participated. Further, in the morning of 03rd Oct. 2012, Prof. Sen and students and faculty of students paid their homage ot Prof. Mithal. 


  • Annual Function of the society would be held in the March, 2012.


  Team Hamrock Society (2013-14)


President:            Nawaz Khan (Integrated M.Tech. Geophysical Technology, 5th year)


Vice-President:    Piyush Jain (Integrated M.Tech. Geological Technology, 4th year)


Secretary:            Anchit Gupta  (Integrated M.Tech. Geological Technology, 4th year)


Treasurer:            Ripul Dutt (Integrated M.Tech. Geological Technology, 3rd year)


Joint Secretary:   Kislay Kumid  (Integrated M.Tech. Geological Technology, 3rd year)

                             Ankit Bhandari (Integrated M.Tech. Geological Technology, 3rd year)


Faculty Advisor:   Dr. R. Krishnamurthi


Patorn:                 Dr. Arun K. Saraf (Professor & Head)


                          Team Hamrock Society (2012-13)


President:          Atirath Sengupta (M.Sc. Applied Geology, final year)


Vice-President:  Siddharth Saxena (Integrated M.Tech. Geophysical Technology, 4th year)


Secretary:          Ankit Khaitan  (Integrated M.Tech. Geophysical Technology, 4th year)


Treasurer:          Harshul Khandelwal (Integrated M.Tech. Geological Technology, 3rd year)


Joint Secretary:  T. S. Vinaykumar  (Integrated M.Tech. Geophysical Technology, 3rd year)

                            Amit Agarwal (Integrated M.Tech. Geological Technology, 3rd year)


Faculty Advisor:  Dr. R. Krishnamurthi


Patorn:                Dr. Arun K. Saraf (Professor & Head)