The Department distinguished faculty members have received numerous awards including Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri, Fellow of national and International academies, etc. Many faculties have served as Chairman and Member of National and International bodies on Earthquake Engineering.
Alt text
Prof. Jai Krishna [Padma Bhushan - 1972 ]
Prof. Jai Krishna was born on 27 January 1912 at Muzaffarnagar, in UP state. He got B.Sc. degree from Agra college and then studied engineering at Thomason College of Civil Engineering (now IIT Roorkee) passing with honours in 1935. He received his Doctoral Degree in Civil Engineering from University of London. Jai Krishna joined Thomason College of Civil Engineering in 1939 as Lecturer and became Professor and the Vice Chancellor in 1969.
Alt text
Prof. A. S. Arya [Padma Shri - 2002 ]
Prof. Arya was born in a small Uttar Pradesh village of Ambehta in Saharanpur district on 13 June 1931 and secured his graduate degree (BE) in civil engineering and master's degree (ME) in Structural engineering (1954) from University of Roorkee (now IIT, Roorkee). Joining the University of Illinois in 1959, he secured a doctoral degree in 1961. He started his career as a member of faculty at the University of Roorkee where he served for 36 years till his superannuation 1989.
Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering