About The Department
Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee has its roots in the Roorkee College established in 1847 as the first engineering college in India, which was soon rechristened as Thomason College of Civil Engineering in 1854 after its mentor James Thomason. After about 100 years of distinguished services, the college was elevated to the University of Roorkee as the first Engineering University of independent India on November 25, 1949. On 21 September 2001, the university was converted into an IIT by the Government of India. It has now 21 academic departments/centres offering 12 undergraduate courses in engineering and architecture, 3 dual degree programs in engineering, and over 48 postgraduate courses in engineering, architecture, sciences, computer and mathematical applications, and business administration besides research programs at the doctoral level.
Situated at the foothills of the enchanting lower Himalayan ranges of Shiwalik, the city of Saharanpur (Western Uttar Pradesh) is the home to another campus of IIT Roorkee, popularly known as its Saharanpur Campus. The Institute of Paper Technology was established as the School of Paper Technology by the Government of India in 1964, with aid from the Royal Swedish Government. This school was managed by a society created by the U.P. Government until its merger with the then University of Roorkee in 1978. The University of Roorkee was given the status of University by Act No IX of 1948 of the United Provinces (Uttar Pradesh). The school was renamed the Institute of Paper Technology in July 1978. The Institute of Paper Technology was renamed as Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee, Saharanpur Campus. Saharanpur Campus is a well-planned and developing Campus acquiring 25 acres of land with a distance of around 49 km from the Roorkee campus.
Currently, the department offers degrees in M. Tech. and Ph.D. programs.
The Department has successfully completed and ongoing a large number of sponsored research projects funded by ONGC, Uttar Pradesh Pollution Control Board, DST- INDIA , SERB New-Delhi, SRIC- IITR,J.K. Paper Ltd., Trident Paper Ltd., Satia Industries Limited ,DSG Papers Private Limited, etc. Besides, the Department provides R &D and consultancy services to various industries.