IIT Roorkee

The Roorkee College, which is now celebrated as one of the Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee, was established in 1847 as the First Engineering College in the British Empire. The College was renamed as the Thomason College of Civil Engineering in 1854. It was given the status of University by Act No. IX of 1948 of the United Province (Uttar Pradesh) in recognition of its performance and its potential and keeping in view the needs of post-independent India. Pandit Jawahar Lal Nehru, the first Prime Minister of India, presented the Charter in November 1949 elevating the erstwhile college to the First Engineering University of Independent India. Since its establishment, this internationally commemorated institute continues to play a vital role in providing technical manpower and research expertise to the country and the world.

click here to know More


Shaping the Future of Management Education for Sustainable Emerging Economies (SFME 2022)

Get In Touch

For any queries, reach us at

Department of Management studies,
IIT Roorkee


Prof. Sourabh Arora: +91- 9933987919
Prof. Sumit Yadav +91- 9998153939
Prof. Kalpak Kulkarni: +91-99756 31370
Prof. Amit Upadhyay: +91-94145 93404

Copyright © 2022 - All Rights Reserved by DoMS, IIT Roorkee | Designed and developed by Rohit Prasad