Indian Institute of Technology - Roorkee is among the foremost of institutes of national importance in higher technological education and in engineering, basic and applied research. Since its establishment, the Institute has played a vital role in providing the technical manpower and know-how to the country and in pursuit of research. The Institute ranks amongst the best technological institutions in the world and has contributed to all sectors of technological development. It has also been considered a trend-setter in the area of education and research in the field of science, technology, and engineering.

The Institute had celebrated its Sesquicentennial in October 1996 and now completed more than 175 years of its existence. It was converted to IIT on September 21, 2001 by an Ordinance issued by the Government of India declared it as the nation’s seventh Indian Institute of Technology, an “Institution of National Importance”.

The Institute offers Bachelor's Degree courses in 10 disciplines of Engineering and Architecture and Postgraduate's Degree in 55 disciplines of Engineering, Applied Science, Architecture and planning. The Institute has facility for doctoral work in all Departments and Research Centres.

The Institute admits students to B.Tech. and B.Arch. courses through the Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) conducted at various centres all over India.
The Department of Hydrology is one of the 23 academic departments of the Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee. The Department came into existence with the inception of the International Post Graduate Course in Hydrology in 1972, being the first such a program in a developing country. The courses, offered by the Department are presently sponsored by the Government of India and UNESCO. The Department has nine dedicated full-time faculty members having specializations in surface water hydrology (Floods, Droughts), water resources systems, watershed management, Geo-hydrology, groundwater geophysics, stochastic hydrology, hydro-informatics, environmental hydrology, atmospheric physics, climate change, etc.
To be the fountainhead of new ideas and innovations in hydrology.
Capacity building through education and training, and conducting pioneering research to seek scientific and engineering solutions in the field of hydrology.
1972: Commencement of International P.G. Hydrology Course at Roorkee supported by Govt. of India and UNESCO with the launch of International Hydrological Decade 1965-74.
1977: International Hydrology Course christened as School of Hydrology. Specialization on Surface Water Hydrology and Groundwater Hydrology Introduced.
1980: Support of WMO and The Royal Netherlands Govt. started. Watershed Management Specialization introduced.
1982: Opening of Laboratory Building at the School of Hydrology.
1985: School of Hydrology upgraded as Department of Hydrology. IDRC (Canada) support commenced.
1985: Inauguration of the new academic block of the Department of Hydrology and its shifting to the present location.
1997: Silver Jubilee Anniversary year of the Department. International Symposium on ‘Emerging Trends in Hydrology’ (ISETH-97) organized.
1999: Induction of the Department into Special Assistance Programme (SAP) of UGC at the level of Department Research Support
2003: Funds for Improvement in Science & Technology Infrastructure in the University and Higher Educational Institution (FIST).
2003: Extension of the Department Building (on 1st floor).
2005: International Conference on “Hydrological Perspectives for Sustainable Development” (HYPESD-2005), Feb. 23 -25, 2005.
2015: The Department of Hydrology was recognized as one of the WMO - Regional Training Centre.
2022:Golden Jubilee Anniversary Year of the Department.
Achievements of Department
Set up in 1972 with the inception of the International Post-Graduate Course in Hydrology during the UNESCO’s International Hydrology Decade (1965-1974). In 1977 specialization courses on Surface Water Hydrology and Groundwater Hydrology were Introduced. In 1980 with the support of WMO and The Royal Netherlands Government Watershed Management Specialization was introduced.
In 2015 the Department of Hydrology was recognized as one of the WMO - Regional Training Centers.
Department has provided training to 1000+ international candidates from 45+ countries.
Total of 50 batches of Master's students have graduated and 90 scholars have been awarded the Ph.D. degree.
The Department of Hydrology holds a strong record of publications and international conference/seminar presentations. For instance, in the year 2022 cumulatively 53 papers were published in the high impact factor international journals and three patents has been granted.
The Department of Hydrology organized 05 international conferences, 100 + training programs including 25+ international programs, 04 Bharat Singh memorial Lecture along with a series of international lectures under the UDAN lecture series.
Department has signed 12 international MoUs including Germany, Portugal, Italy, South Korea, Australia, UK, USA, France, and others.
With strong research and industrial projects, the department has set up 8 labs with advanced equipment and strong field sites in the different parts of the Himalayan regions.