Faculties
List of Faculties in Metallurgical and Materials Engineering Department
There is an image here
Gautam Agarwal
Assistant professor
gautam.agarwal@mt.iitr.ac.in
Welding metallurgy, laser welding
There is an image here
Varun A Baheti
Assistant professor
varun@mt.iitr.ac.in
8861464833
Electronic Packaging, Galvanised Coatings, Thermoelectrics: Diffusion in Solids, Phase Diagrams, Growth Kinetics, Microstructure, Properties
There is an image here
Mukesh Bhardwaj
Assistant professor
mukesh.bhardwaj@mt.iitr.ac.in
Research methodologies, Automation tools like potentiostat programming, Latex and planning tools to do reseach efficiently, Nano grain sized metallic materials, Nano Nickel and Nano copper coatings, Nano composites, Nano ceramic metal matrix coating, Weldments, Corrosion protection of weldments, Energy materials, Microporous coatings of Nickel for hydrogen evolution, Electrocatalysis, Synthesis and characterization of an electrocatalyst for hydrogen evolution reaction, Modelling and simulation, Simulation of iron and steel making processes
There is an image here
G.P. Chaudhari
Professor
g.chaudhari@mt.iitr.ac.in
+91-1332-285524
Aqueous corrosion , Solidification processing, Ultra fine grained materials
There is an image here
Vikram Vasant Dabhade
Associate professor
vikram.dabhade@mt.iitr.ac.in
08057750743
Metal Matric Composites, Nanocomposites, Machinability, Intermetallics, Sintering Kinetics, Mechanical Alloying, Powder Metallurgy
There is an image here
B.S. Sundar Daniel
Head of department
sundar.daniel@mt.iitr.ac.in
+91-1332-285751
Metal Foam, Nanomaterials, Metal Matrix Composites, Metallic Glasses, Superplasticity
There is an image here
Sourav Das
Associate professor
sourav.das@mt.iitr.ac.in
+91-1332-284862
Steel development for:, 1. Automotive application, 2. Armour, 3. Construction;, Study of phase transformation with the help of:, 1. ThermoCalc, 2. DICTRA, 3. Modelling;, Structure-property correlation of:, 1. Mechanical properties of steel (e.g. tensile, fatigue, impact etc), 2. Heat treatment;, Joining of materials, 1. Ferrous, 2. Non-ferrous joining
There is an image here
Nikhil Dhawan
Associate professor
nikhil.dhawan@mt.iitr.ac.in
91-1332-284839
Mineral Processing, Extractive Metallurgy, Recycling, Microwave processing, Rare earth, Electronic waste recycling, CFL, PCB, Lithium ion battery
There is an image here
Sadhan Ghosh
Associate professor
sadhan.ghosh@mt.iitr.ac.in
01332-284762
Phase Transformations, Mechanical behaviors, Steel microstructures-property correlation, Thermo-Calc and Dictra Simulation
There is an image here
Supriyo Ghosh
Assistant professor
supriyo.ghosh@mt.iitr.ac.in
+91 1332285143
Computational Materials Science, Phase Transformations, Additive Manufacturing, Materials Design
There is an image here
Anish Karmakar
Assistant professor
anish.karmakar@mt.iitr.ac.in
01332284908
Advanced Thermomechanical Processing of Steels and Titanium Alloys, Damage Evaluation of Metals and Alloys, Tailor and Design of Steel Microstructure and their Mechanical responses, Fatigue Behaviour of Titanium Alloys, Electron Microscopy, Precipitation kinetics, Crystallographic texture
There is an image here
Sharvan Kumar
Assistant professor
sharvan.kumar@mt.iitr.ac.in
91-1332-285723
Physical Metallurgy , Physical & Industrial Metallurgy
There is an image here
B.V. Manoj Kumar
Professor
manoj.kumar@mt.iitr.ac.in
0091-8755746590
Tribology of advanced materials, Processing of Ceramics and Composites, Structure-Property Correlations in Advanced Materials
There is an image here
Arka Lahiri
Assistant professor
arka.lahiri@mt.iitr.ac.in
+91-1332-284923
Study of Phase-transformations and Mechnical Behaviour using the following Modeling and Simulation approaches: 1. Phase-field modeling, 2. Crystal Plasticity, 3. Kinetic Monte Carlo, 4. Machine learning, 5. Deep learning and Computer Vision.
There is an image here
Indranil Lahiri
Associate professor
indranil.lahiri@mt.iitr.ac.in
+91-1332-285261
Synthesis of Nanomaterials, Carbon Nanotubes, Graphene and other nanomaterials and thin films, Electronic Applications of Nanomaterials, Field Emission - application of interface engineering and novel geometry, Energy Related Application of Nanomaterials, Carbon nanotubes and other nanomaterials as Li-ion battery electrode, Energy harvesters, Sensors for healthcare applications
There is an image here
Debrupa Lahiri
Associate professor
debrupa.lahiri@mt.iitr.ac.in
1332-28-5137
(1) Biomaterials:, Developing Material systems for Implants, Tissue Engineering and Degradable Scaffolds, (2) Multiscale Mechanics and Tribology:, (i) For Structural Materials, (ii) Nanomechanics of Biological and 1D/2D Nanomaterials , (3) Composite Material Systems with Nanofillers:, For structural and biomedical applications with specific functionalities
There is an image here
Sai Ramudu Meka
Associate professor
s.r.meka@mt.iitr.ac.in
01332284860
Surface Engineering - Thermochemical surface treatments for steels, powder metallurgy, second-phase dispersion strengthened metal alloys, Solid State Phase Transformation
There is an image here
Sumeet Mishra
Assistant professor
sumeet.mishra@mt.iitr.ac.in
9621931122
Computational plasticity, Deformation kinetics analysis using transient mechanical tests, Phenomenological modelling using internal variable models, Texture modelling via full field and self consistent models, Numerical modelling of precipitation kinetics
There is an image here
Suhrit Mula
Associate professor
suhrit.mula@mt.iitr.ac.in
01332-285763
Preparation of Bulk Nanostructured metals and alloys and nanocomposites, Low stacking fault energy materials (Copper based alloys), Development of High strength steel by controlled Thermo-mechanical processing, Thermomechanical simulation, multiaxial forging, controlled rolling of IF steels, Microalloyed steel, high entropy alloys , Development of cast high entropy alloys, Thermodynamics, kinetics and thermal stability of nanostructured materials , Iron based and aluminium-based nanostructured alloys, Mechanical alloying and spark plasma sintering, Wear and Corrosion resistance
There is an image here
Vivek Pancholi
Professor
vivek.pancholi@mt.iitr.ac.in
01332-285426
Crystallographic texture, High temperature deformation, Thermo-mechanical processing, Superplasticity and Superplastic Forming, Friction stir processing
There is an image here
Ujjwal Prakash
Professor
ujjwal.prakash@mt.iitr.ac.in
+91-1332-285574
Metallurgical Engineering, Powder metallurgy, steels, high temperature structural materials, intermetallics.
There is an image here
Devendra Puri
Assistant professor
devendra.puri@mt.iitr.ac.in
01332-28-5345
Extractive Metallurgy, High Temperature Oxidation & Corrosion, Extractive Metallurgy, High Temperature Oxidation & Corrosion
There is an image here
Anjan Sil
Professor
anjan.sil@mt.iitr.ac.in
91-1332-285073
Energy Storage Materials , Functional Ceramics
There is an image here
K.S. Suresh
Assistant professor
ks.suresh@mt.iitr.ac.in
+91-1332 284868
Structure - property correlations, Electron Microscopy, Crystallographic Texture, Thermo-mechanical processing, Plasticity, Annealing, Advanced Manufacturing methods, Additive Manufacturing, Smart Materials, Shape memory alloys, Strutural Materials, Metallic multilayers, Ti alloys, Ni base superalloys, Al alloys
There is an image here
Abhishek Tewari
Assistant professor
abhishek@mt.iitr.ac.in
+91-1332-285268
Computational Materials Science, Materials Informatics, Oxide thermoelectrics, Alternative Battery Technologies
Retired Faculty
There is an image here
P.K. Ghosh
Retired faculty
prakgfmt@iitr.ac.in
91-1332-285699
Welding Metallurgy, Fatigue & Fracture mechanics, Met. matrix composites, Innovation & IP Management, Welding & adhesive joining, Nano filler polymer composite, Life & Safety Analyses of Eng. Structure
There is an image here
R. Jayaganthan
Ex faculty
rjayafmt@iitr.ac.in
01332-285869
Nano Manufacturing , Development of Bulk Nanostructured Materials for Structural Applications, Functional Nanomaterials, Structure-Property Correlations in Piezoelectric Nanostructured Thin films , Ultrafine grained Materials, Fatigue & Fracture Studies of Light Metals & Alloys , Corrosion Engineering, Degradation Behaviour of Bulk and Nanocrystalline Coatings
There is an image here
S.K. Nath
Retired faculty
sumeer.nath@mt.iitr.ac.in
91-1332-285722
Physical metallurgy, Alloy design and development, Tribology , Physical metallurgy, Alloy design and development, Tribology
There is an image here
Devandra Singh
Ex faculty
dev27fmt@iitr.ac.in
+91-1332-285580
Injection Metallurgy, Gas dynamics, Powder Metallurgy, Modelling, Injection Metallurgy, Gas Dynamics, Powder Metallurgy, Modelling